November 10-15

The official news source of

ACR Convergence 2023

San Diego, CA

Home // 2016 ARHP Merit & Appreciation Awards

2016 ARHP Merit & Appreciation Awards


2 minutes

ARHP Addie Thomas Service Award

The ARHP Addie Thomas Service Award is presented in honor of the association’s first president and recognizes individuals who have been an active volunteer involved with local, regional, and national arthritis-related activities.

Carol A. Oatis, PT, PhD
Arcadia University
Glenside, PA

ARHP Distinguished Scholar Award

The ARHP Distinguished Scholar Award is presented to an individual who demonstrates exceptional achievements in scholarly activities pertinent to arthritis and rheumatic diseases.

Kelli D. Allen, PhD
Thurston Arthritis Research Center,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC

Kaleb D. Michaud, PhD
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE

ARHP Ann Kunkel Advocacy Award

The ARHP Ann Kunkel Award is presented to an ARHP member who has provided extraordinary service to advocate for patients with arthritis and rheumatic diseases, or for health professionals in rheumatology.

Christina H. Opava, PhD, RPT
Karolinska Institutet
Huddinge, Sweden

ARHP Distinguished Clinician Award

The ARHP Distinguished Clinician Award is presented to an individual who is engaged in clinical practice, and demonstrates outstanding clinical expertise in arthritis and rheumatic diseases.

Christine A. Stamatos, DNP, ANP-C
Northwell Health System
Great Neck, NY

ARHP Distinguished Educator Award

The ARHP Distinguished Educator Award is presented to an ARHP member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in teaching of health professional students, medical students, residents, graduate students, and/or fellows, with their primary focus being rheumatology-related content.

Cynthia Crowson, MS,
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

ARHP Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is the highest honor that the ARHP bestows. The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a current or former member of the ARHP whose career has demonstrated a sustained and lasting contribution to the field of rheumatology and rheumatology health professionals.

Geri B. Neuberger, RN, MN, EdD
KU School of Nursing
Kansas City, KS

President’s Award

This award is presented to the ACR/ARHP member or team performing outstanding service within the present year in advancing the goals, ideals and standards of the ARHP.

Charles G. Helmick, MD
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA

Graduate Student Award

This award is presented to the top graduate student research or clinical project proposals in the field of rheumatology.

Shadi Gholizadeh, MSc, MS, MPH
San Diego State University/University of California San Diego
San Diego, CA

Alexandra Wink, MS
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston, MA